Dover District Council (DDC) has agreed to changes to the area’s polling districts which will see one village split into two new polling districts. 

The council carried out a review of polling districts, used for UK Parliamentary elections, in October this year.  

Two new polling districts

DDC consulted on polling districts, polling places and polling stations, including the suitability of each polling station across the area, particularly for people with disabilities. 

The review, which takes place every five years, proposed minor changes which were agreed at an extraordinary council meeting on Wednesday (29 November). 

This included splitting the Aylesham ward into two polling districts – East and West – taking into account the housing growth which has taken place there over the past decade. 

Earlier this year, the Boundary Commission for England submitted recommendations to the Government to alter some constituency boundaries and names.  

These were approved on 15 November with the current Dover constituency becoming Dover and Deal at the next Parliamentary General election. 

Boundaries will also be altered, with Sandwich and Little Stour and Ashstone district wards forming part of the newly named Herne Bay and Sandwich constituency. 

Changes in the Dover district: 

  • The Aylesham ward will be split into two polling districts – Aylesham East and West – with polling stations being St Finbarr’s Church and Aylesham Baptist Church respectively. 
  • The wards of Little Stour and Ashstone, and Sandwich (including Sandwich Bay), which are currently part of the South Thanet constituency, will form part of the newly named Herne Bay and Sandwich constituency at the next Parliamentary General election. 
  • Ash Village Main Hall will be used as a double polling station, instead of the library. 
  • Part of Worth parish, known as Worth village, which is currently part of the South Thanet constituency will form part of the newly named Dover and Deal constituency at the next Parliamentary General Election. 

At the next Parliamentary General Election, the current South Thanet and North Thanet constituencies will no longer exist; the boundaries were updated by the Boundary Commission and the new constituencies will be known as the East Thanet cons

By Ed

©2024 Hawkinge Gazette       -       The Hawkinge Gazette is not responsible for the content of external sites